Kathy Griffin’s My Life on the D-List. Season 6, Ep. 1

Here’s my first post. And probably my first required writing assignment since community college, like 4 years ago. Fngers….rusty..

Kathy GriffinKathy Griffin isn’t that funny. I don’t mean to be sexist here, but sometimes we do things we don’t mean. She’s a chick and really not that funny. Female comedians just don’t make me laugh – not my fault. Theirs. With that said, if I had to choose the top 3 funniest women comedians, I guess I could throw Kathy Griffin up there. She’s crude, self-deprecatingĀ  and honest, and I like those things.

Episode 1 of Season 6, called “Kathy with a ‘Z”, was actually somewhat entertaining. Her best quality is admitting how awful she is. I couldn’t agree more. Her show is called ‘My Life on the D-List’ because she’s not even a B-celebrity.

PLOT: She scored a part on Law and Order SVU as a lesbian who ends up kissing the leading man and woman of the show in the same episode. She was worried because as a comedian, the last ‘real’ acting she had to do was the X-Files in the 90s. She gets acting classes from guest star Liza Minnelli.

SPOILER: She ends up nailing the part, and everyone is happy.

What I liked about the episode:

  1. Kathy Griffin’s mom is hilarious. She’s old and senile, and therefore has no idea how funny she is. Kathy exploits her terribly.
  2. Mariska Hargitay (star of the show) forgot that Kathy Griffin was her teacher back in theater classes a long time ago. It’s the running gag in the show that nobody knows who Kathy Griffin is.
  3. Liza Minnelli was actually fun to watch. I give her points for being in Arrested Development.
  4. Kathy Griffin isn’t afraid to cry or look like trash on the show. As someone who’s seen a lot of reality TV, I’ve noticed that there are very few people who are willing to be real on TV.

What I didn’t like about the episode:

  1. Kathy Griffin looks horrible. I know this kind of contradicts what I said in point #4 above, but hey, I like that she’s not afraid to look horrible, but I hate how horrible she looks. Catch 22. She’s had work done. It’s caused her eyelids to slowly catch up with her face every time she blinks. Like her lashes are sluggish caterpillars.
  2. Aside from her mother, everyone else who surrounds her, and I would assume are the other ‘characters’ of the show, are completely boring and useless.

More likes than dislikes? It was an alright show, then, I guess. Is it gay? Supergay. She even addresses her viewers at some point in the show. It had to do with kissing Elliot Stabler. But she was pretty much talking to women and gay dudes.

What about me? What about you? Does anyone out there with man-parts watch this mediocre show?

Kathy With A ‘Z
One Response to “Kathy Griffin’s My Life on the D-List. Season 6, Ep. 1”

  1. This show has lasted 6 seasons? Seriously?

Leave a Reply

